Horses for Courses

I’m wrapped up in liquid – whiskey or rum

No sign of my lungs failing, but my heart is overcome

You are playing my organs with a serrated spoon

A gutsy concerto by the light of the moon.
The music is yours, hours upon days

Living for moments in the moon’s gentle gaze

An impassioned plea for your time, nothing more

But this dream was a harbinger of the nightmare in store
I wake up alone, you are gone.

Taking the sun, taking our song

I choke on a torrent of bile and of blood

The visions I’ve seen but never understood

Author: dermhurl

musician, writer, teacher

One thought on “Horses for Courses”

Leave a Reply

