Shoreline

Watching for no one
A lone seagull cries

My eyes, my eyes.
My eyes are drawn skywards 

The gull swoops for fun

And I continue to search for the sun.
Undulating ululating sounds of the shore

The empty strand is never silent

I watch, listen for more
The fast running wavelets knock the sandpipers high

The tiny scavengers flitting to new hunting grounds

Where the tasty buried sandworms abound
Such hunting is a challenge for such tiny birds

One that humans have already faced

But standing alone on this solemn strand

My challenge is to put into words

How nature has all trace of humans erased  
 

Author: dermhurl

musician, writer, teacher

Leave a Reply

